Skip to content

Lazy Sundays

April 3, 2011

Last night Jeff and I hit up the Trap Bar for an evening with a Talking Heads cover band. Funniest part about it was the band was so young, I think the Talking Heads broke up prior to their birth…anyway, my point…Jeff had several beers and thus needed extra breakfast love this morning.

I woke up early with big plans on making an exquisite coffee cake with the sour raw milk left from our milk share 2 weeks ago. Alas, I really need to remember, I am a novice baker…and by novice, I mean I am just a step beyond my Holly Hobby Easy Bake Oven. Sure I made the croquenbush in high school, but really, cream puffs are not that difficult and to me don’t taste that great anyway. So I searched a few cookbooks and some websites for a simple quick cake recipe and settled on this one. The author claims it is moist and delicious…ummm not so much. Of course I didn’t have a 9×9 pan, so instead used the 6×10 pan or whatever size it was. I didn’t have enough batter to do a middle layer with the struesle so I just put it on top. Of course I also have an oven that is so far off calibration that the cake fried on the bottom. Ah well.

Lesson of the day…we all start out knowing nothing when it comes to cooking and baking. It is just like learning a foreign language. At first you must follow directions exactly because you have little to no idea what you are saying. After some time, the words start to click together…then after a little more time you don’t have to think quite so hard about what you are doing…finally, you wake up in the middle of the night just having had a splendid dream about braising lamb shanks. mmmm lamb. I digress. My point is, I feel that now I am finally getting to the proficient stage with cooking. My kitchen no longer feels like a foreign country. Baking on the other hand…well it is kind of like the proverbial “speaking Greek.” Whole new alphabet, some of the letters look similar, but really I have to get out the translator for this one. If at first you don’t succeed…bake and bake again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

