Skip to content

Fall is in the air, time to highlight the summer in food.

October 10, 2011

This summer has been a full one and as promised, I did not spend time on the computer. But as the fall crisp air starts to blow into the valley, I thought it time to post a slideshow along with some highlights of the last few months.

Our garden had many successes and a few failures this year. While last year I could not eat enough kale, this year swiss chard has been my green of choice. Good thing as the cabbage worms have decided that kale, cabbage, cauliflower, collards, brussels sprouts and horseradish leaves are for their consumption alone. After I write this post, I need to sit down with my garden journal and make notes for next year…see, I am learning to plan for something in life!

With the bounty of the garden, I have begun the process of learning to can. So far this summer I have canned pickled garlic, orange rhubarb marmalade, cherry jelly, rosy red radish relish, pickled swiss chard stems, pickled jalapenos and pickled beets. Next up, more jam or jelly perhaps and hopefully some tomatoes if it is not too late!

I also whipped up some delicious meals…though i must admit, I finally put the phone/camera down and stopped taking pictures of food ometime in late July. It just didn’t seem like the best use of time.

Ans so, I present, the slideshow of L’estate della Pazza Ragazza (The summer of the crazy girlfriend for you non-Italian speakers…and those Italian speakers out there, yes I am aware that it should be ragazza pazza, but I like it the other way).

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2011 12:10 pm

    Beautiful pics, Mel! I’m inspired to try and grow some garlic again this winter. . . gotta get on that!

    • pazzaragazza permalink*
      October 10, 2011 12:21 pm

      yeah, i need to get on that this week as well. it is just so easy. potatoes and garlic…two things we don’t have to think much about.

Trackbacks

  1. dehydrated goodness « pazza ragazza

Leave a Reply

